Joshua Tree (CD) ~ U2 (Artist) Cover Art

Joshua Tree

By: U2

Current Price: $5.99
Also Available in: [Vinyl LP]
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $7.99 New Buy
2   CD Universe $13.59 New Buy

U2 Artist Snapshot:

U2's Bono was one of the few real rock heroes of the 1980s, leading the Irish band to international recognition with a charged, political approach to music. The band's early efforts brought a stadium-size presence to post-punk, with Bono's expressive vocals and the Edge's distinct guitar lines interacting seamlessly with the rhythm section of bassist Adam Clayton and drummer Larry Mullen, Jr. In 1987, U2 broke through to superstardom with THE JOSHUA TREE, a grand culmination of their '80s sound. In the 1990s, however, the band very purposefully deflated that epic image, simultaneously adding ambient, dance, and electronica touches on 1991's ACHTUNG BABY. Mining that vein for much of the decade, U2 kicked off the 21st century with a triumphant return to form that was embraced by new and longtime fans alike.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Joshua Tree Album By U2 iTunes CD Universe
1   Where The Streets Have No Name Buy Buy  
2   I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For Buy Buy  
3   With Or Without You Buy Buy  
4   Bullet The Blue Sky Buy Buy  
5   Running To Stand Still Buy Buy  
6   Red Hill Mining Town Buy Buy  
7   In God's Country Buy Buy  
8   Trip Through Your Wires Buy Buy  
9   One Tree Hill Buy Buy  
10   Exit Buy Buy  
11   Mothers Of The Disappeared Buy Buy  
DISC 2 for Joshua Tree Album By U2 iTunes CD Universe
1   Luminous Times (Hold On To Love) Buy Buy  
2   Walk To The Water Buy Buy  
3   Spanish Eyes Buy Buy  
4   Deep In The Heart Buy Buy  
5   Silver And Gold Buy Buy  
6   Sweetest Thing Buy Buy  
7   Race Against Time Buy Buy  
8   Where The Streets Have No Name Buy Buy  
9   Silver And Gold (Sun City Version) Buy Buy  
10   Beautiful Ghost/Introduction To Songs Of Experience Buy Buy  
11   Wave Of Sorrow (Birdland) Buy Buy  
12   Desert Of Our Love Buy Buy  
13   Rise Up Buy Buy  
14   Drunk Chicken/America Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Joshua Tree" by U2

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Joshua Tree" by U2 to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Joshua Tree"

Browse more products related to "U2"

Album Description

The CD format features remastered audio, liner notes by Bill Flanagan (author of "U2 At The End Of The World") and previously unseen Anton Corbijn photos.

Product Notes

U2 have made a lot of grand music, but 1987's graceful, powerful Joshua Tree stands as their masterwork. It is by turns moving, inspiring, and exhilarating. Each member contributes his best work, and each song shines. Would that all rock records were made with the same care, the same passion and invention. The ubiquitous opening salvo of "Where the Streets Have No Name," "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" and the tense "With or Without You" may define this album to many, but its real strengths lie in the brilliant second half: "Red Hill Mining Town," "Trip Through Your Wires," and the surging "One Tree Hill" (the latter being one of rock's--hell, all music's--truly finest moments). --Michael Ruby

Having nearly exhausted their capacity for pop-song politics on War and The Unforgettable Fire, U2 turned toward themes of personal identity and complex relationships on The Joshua Tree. Not that the group was willing to come down off the barricades entirely: "Mothers of the Disappeared" and "Bullet the Blue Sky" turned a jaundiced eye toward Central America and the United States' role there. But the predominant mood here is one of self-discovery and the hunger for something more on tracks like the pulsating "Where the Streets Have No Name" and the gospel-ish "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For." The album's masterstroke, however, is "With or Without You," a nasty love song dressed up as an ode of devotion and care. It ranks with the Police's "Every Breath You Take" as the most misread smash hit of the '80s. --Daniel Durchholz

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with