Labfield: Bucket of Songs

Labfield: Bucket of Songs
Title: Bucket of Songs
Label: Hubro
Product Type: VINYL LP

LP version. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl. Includes CD. Labfield's masterly third album, Bucket of Songs, shows a band that has expanded it's palette considerably since their previous release. Whereas the focus of Collab (HUBRO 2502 CD, 2010) was on a soundscape characterized by long, richly detailed, slowly flowing drones, Bucket of Songs is more a collection of improvised songs and tunes. Until now, Labfield has been a duo consisting of the Swedish guitarist David Stackenas (Territory Band, Seval, Fire! Orchestra) and the Norwegian percussionist Ingar Zach (Huntsville, Dans les Arbres, Arve Henriksen, Erik Honore). Both are well-known names in the European improv scene. Stackenas and Zach previously played in the trio Tri-Dim together with saxophonist Hakon Kornstad. When the trio was put on the shelf, they decided to form a duo and try out a radically different approach to music. Both their 2008 debut, Fish Forms, and their follow-up, Collab, showed an improvising duo using an overwhelmingly rich sound, on a steady course through a hypnotic drone landscape. For Bucket of Songs, Labfield have invited the amazing Mariam Wallentin (Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Mariam the Believer, Fire! Orchestra) to contribute vocals on several cuts. Giuseppe Ielasi (guitar and electronics), from Italy, who guested on the duo's previous album, is included here as a full member, making the duo into a trio. Ielasi has released several solo albums on the label 12k, and has previously collaborated with Taku Sugimoto, Jerome Noetinger, Phill Niblock, Oren Ambarchi, and many others. Ielasi also co-founded the label Schoolmap. Bucket of Songs is a powerful album that offers free and creative improvisation-based music and sends feelers out toward pop, minimalism, electronic music, and ethnic music.

1.1 Ragged Line Reversed
1.2 Page 55
1.3 Temporary Reasons
1.4 Bucket of Songs
1.5 Intensive Course in Bad Manners
1.6 The Boy Who Never Remembered to Forget
1.7 Straight A's in Constant Sorrow
1.8 Members Crossed
1.9 Last Passacaglia

Labfield: Bucket of Songs

Regular price Sale price $23.90 $25.98
Product-type:VINYL LP
Tax included.

Recently viewed