Citizen: Everybody Is Going to Heaven

Citizen: Everybody Is Going to Heaven
Title: Everybody Is Going to Heaven
Label: Run for Cover
Product Type: VINYL LP

Almost two years to the date of the release of their breakthrough album, Citizen return with their highly anticipated follow-up full-length, Everybody is Going to Heaven. Haunting these ten songs is a foreboding, dark atmosphere masterfully crafted by producer Will Yip, and an immediate, intense energy is palpable from even the first grimy seconds of the opener, 'Cement.' As with every one of Citizen's releases, Mat Kerekes' signature vocal delivery here is a trademark feature, demonstrating the emotional tension that boils over on this release. As cathartic as ever, he duels between a soft croon and a haunting scream, confronting his demons on tracks like 'My Favorite Color' echoing the tormented refrain, 'my heart still beats for nothing'. And while most of the record is an intense and noisy onslaught, songs like 'Heaviside' and 'Yellow Love' act as armistices, each aching in reverb-drenched consonance. Everybody is Going to Heaven is a defining record for Citizen: once regarded as newcomers with undeniable potential, the band shows here that they have matured both abruptly and uniquely, with no end to their upward trajectory in sight.

1.1 Cement
1.2 Dive Into My Sun
1.3 Numb Yourself
1.4 Heaviside
1.5 My Favorite Color
1.6 Weave Me (Into Yr Sin)
1.7 Stain
1.8 Ten
1.9 Yellow Love
1.10 I'm Going to Quit Big y - I'm Ok

Citizen: Everybody Is Going to Heaven

Regular price Sale price $20.22 $22.98
Product-type:VINYL LP

Recently viewed