Edj: Edj

Edj: Edj
Artist: Edj
Title: Edj
Product Type: VINYL LP

2014 solo project from Eric D. Johnson a former member of Chicago band Fruit Bats. Johnson describes the album: " These are not the "happy" songs that I've come to be associated with no fully major chords, & lots of suspended chords and major sevenths to make things kind of emotionally ambiguous. I was ready to fold in every type of music I was into at the moment Joni Mitchell, new age, early 80's McCartney, Another Green World, film scores, Talk Talk, British folk, and modern stuff that's got me excited. I had a bunch of my favorite people join me on this: Sam Cohen, Brian Kantor & Josh Kaufman (all of Yellowbirds and a million other bands) made up the backbone of the band in the early part of the tracking. And then there were appearances by people from all the different chapters of my musical life Andy Cabic from Vetiver & Tim Rutili from Califone dropped by to add stuff. James Mercer from the Shins sang some gorgeous high harmonies, and Nathan Larson of Shudder to Think (also my sometime film score collaborator) laid down some droney guitar vibes. And of course Thom Monahan, my usual studio coconspirator, was there to make everything come together. These are simple stories, some about losses, a few about disappointment and regret, but also of hope and perseverance.

1.1 For the Boy Who Moved Away
1.2 Lose It All, All the Time
1.3 Odd Love
1.4 Minor Miracles
1.5 The Magical Parking Lot
1.6 Salt Licorice
1.7 A West County Girl
1.8 Mostly Just Fantasies
1.9 For Joy
1.10 Child in the Wild
1.11 The Mountain on Fire (In the Rearview)

Edj: Edj

Regular price Sale price $16.38 $19.98
Product-type:VINYL LP

Recently viewed