Kevin Davidson Quintet: Breathing Winston Living John

Kevin Davidson Quintet: Breathing Winston Living John
Title: Breathing Winston Living John
Label: CD Baby

Kevin Davidson's new release "Breathing Winston Living John" serves as a dedication to his heroes: Winston Mankunku and John Coltrane, as well as a platform to perform and improvise on his own compositions. This 9 track album features a variety of Kevin's music, from medium swing tunes to fiery sambas. Each tune showcases Davidson as an accomplished soloist and arranger. The album also features South African Standards "Yakhal' Inkomo" by Winston Mankunku and Alan Silinga's "Ntyilo Ntyilo". Kevin Davidson has written many compositions over the last 30 years. But due to the record industry viewing his work as non-commercial, releasing an album has been a huge source of frustration for him. When a chance arose to record at Peter Auret's Sumo Sound last year, Kevin seized the opportunity. Davidson's choice for this particular line-up for the album was not only based on the respect he has for each of the players as fine empathetic musicians, but also because they had previously performed together in this format and the atmosphere was always cool, relaxed and fun. Since there had been no time allotted to rehearse the material for the album, Kevin chose tunes that were challenging from an improvisational point of view but were quite straight-ahead in terms of sight-reading. The fact that they never went beyond a second take on any of the material, resulted in the playing sounding fresh and uncontrived. Kevin has played on many albums as a sideman from small group work with Carlo Mombelli to big band recordings with John Davies. Musicians he has played with include Pharoah Sanders, Howard Johnson, Richie Cole, Bob Mintzer, Winston Mankunku, Duke Makasi, Robbie Jansen, Ezra Ngcukana, Chris Schilder, Basil Moses, Sammy Hartman, Nol Klinkhamer and in a master class capacity with Avishai Cohen, Helen Sung, Clay Jenkins and Thelonious Monk Junior. Kevin Davidson - tenor saxophone and flute Roland Moses - piano Hugo de Waal - guitar Pete Sklair - bass Peter Auret - drums with Special guest: Dan Selsick - trombone on "Water Torture"

1.1 Yakhal' Inkomo
1.2 Obsidian Cutting Deeper
1.3 An Astral Ascent
1.4 The Magical Mbira
1.5 Ntiylo Ntiylo
1.6 Impecunious Circumstance
1.7 Incense Is Not the Burning Issue
1.8 Water Torture
1.9 The Prime Object

Kevin Davidson Quintet: Breathing Winston Living John

Regular price Sale price $15.62 $16.98
Tax included.

Recently viewed