Light Silver Automatic

Light Silver Automatic: Electric Record

$7.36 $8.98

Artist: Light Silver Automatic
Title: Electric Record

Light Silver Automatic's 'The Electric Record' is a whirlwind of electric guitar-based pop/rock. The title is further reflective of the energetic and exciting forces smashed together; although rock remains the album's compass, you will enjoy the flashes of dance jams, blues, and psychedelic brush strokes that are sprinkled throughout the recording. These selections are often informed by some wonderful artists, which the band experienced primarily during it's young adulthood (R.E.M., The Cure, Catherine Wheel, Pixies) as we hoped to combine the melodic with the powerful while keeping the record under an hour. It remains a small pleasure of ours to enjoy an album from start to finish in that amount of time. Push play and let it rip. ____ LIGHT SILVER AUTOMATIC is: a warm electric blanket . . . radiant harmonies . . . music made from steel and wood . . . rock and pop smothered in caramel-like sonic goodness . . . like Pink Floyd covering The Beatles . . . lots of fun if you like to hum . . . a band born and raised in the shadows of Chicago, the ol' stomping grounds of The Smashing Pumpkins, Kanye West, and Liz Phair, among many others . . . a treat for those who enjoy Gibson and Fender electrics and Marshall half-stacks (and Tacoma acoustics, and Moogs, piano, etc.) . . . a stampede of horses circling the moon . . . like sitting on a country porch while holding a fire cracker . . . The answer to your query . . . a seeker of truth. ____ The Electric Record - album credits: Mark Doherty performed vocals, guitars, and keyboards (track 7) on this record, yet it was not created or completed without the indelible contributions of many friends and musicians. The following people did the following things on the following songs, for which I thank them: Matt Engstrom (bass on tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9-13; keyboards on tracks 5-7, 11, and 12; guitar on tracks 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, and 12; additional vocals on tracks 2 and 3); Eric Lax (guitar on tracks 2, 3, and 6-8); Eric Carson (drums on tracks 2-8); Jeremy Kauffman (drums on tracks 1, 9, and 13); Shane Davies (bass on tracks 3, 6, and 8); Roger Osthoff (trumpet on tracks 2 and 13); Brian Hasenjaeger (guitar on track 10); Bryan Resendiz (drums on tracks 11 and 12); and Steve Trumpeter (Moog on track 4). Produced, recorded, engineered, and generally assembled by Matt Engstrom and Mark Doherty at Caffeinated Recordings, Chicago, Illinois (, with many helpful thoughts from Jim Birch; Full Bright Life, Wheaton, Illinois; and Reelsounds Recording Studio, Skokie, Illinois, with wisdom and guidance from Thom "Fig" Fiegle. Mixed by Matt Engstrom with Mark Doherty at Caffeinated Recordings, Chicago, Illinois and various other places. Mastered by Mike Hagler at Kingsize Sound Labs, Chicago, Illinois. Photographs by Mark Doherty. Design and layout by Mark Doherty with the friendship of Eric Lax. Special thanks to Matt Engstrom, my musical cohort and sounding board, whose expertise and collaboration made this record possible. Additional thanks to my wonderful wife and family for their patience, understanding, and love. Repeated exposure to this record at considerable volume is strongly recommended. Headphones need love, too. All songs written by Mark Doherty © and (p) 2007 Mark P. Doherty. All rights reserved. HBOO.

1.1 Pistol
1.2 Beam Now Bends
1.3 Where You Are
1.4 Reflection
1.5 Finis
1.6 Velour Blues
1.7 Acceleration
1.8 We Ain't Scared
1.9 Cletus Has Risen
1.10 Fire Deluxe
1.11 Glass
1.12 Slideshow
1.13 Our Sweet Goodbye

Recommended items

Recently viewed