Mickey Hart: Planet Drum

Mickey Hart: Planet Drum
Artist: Mickey Hart
Title: Planet Drum
Product Type: VINYL LP

Limited double 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Includes three bonus tracks not on the original release: "Sea of Showers", "Throat Games", and "The Spot".Planet Drum is a world music album by Mickey Hart, a musician and musicologist who was a member of the rock band the Grateful Dead. Hart's concept for Planet Drum was to play drum music with percussionists from around the world, and incorporate their different musical styles and traditions into a new global sound. The musicians on the Planet Drum album were from the United States (Hart), India (Zakir Hussain and T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram), Nigeria (Sikiru Adepoju and Babatunde Olatunji), Brazil (Airto Moreira and his wife, vocalist Flora Purim), and Puerto Rico (Giovanni Hidalgo and Frank Colón). Planet Drum won the Grammy Award for Best World Music Album of 1991, the first year for which the award was given. It reached #1 on the Billboard chart for Top World Music Albums.

1.1 Udu Chant
1.2 Island Groove
1.3 Light Over Shawdow
1.4 Dance of the Hunter's Fire
2.1 Jewe 'You Are the One
2.2 The Hunt
2.3 Temple Caves
2.4 The Dancing Sorcerer
2.5 Bones
3.1 Lost River
3.2 Evening Samba
3.3 Iyanu 'Surprises'
3.4 Mysterious Island
4.1 Sea of Showers
4.2 Throat Games
4.3 The Spot

Mickey Hart: Planet Drum

Regular price Sale price $28.68 $34.98
Product-type:VINYL LP

Recently viewed