Rzewski / Kotcheff: Songs of Insurrection

Rzewski / Kotcheff SKU: 40991061
Rzewski / Kotcheff: Songs of Insurrection

Rzewski / Kotcheff: Songs of Insurrection

Rzewski / Kotcheff SKU: 40991061

Format: CD

Regular price $18.99 Sale price $16.33

On average, orders containing available-to-ship items are processed and dispatched within 1-2 business days, although this is not guaranteed. Orders containing preorder items will ship as 1 fulfillment once all items are available to ship.

Please note, Tower Records Merchandise and Exclusives are dispatched separately. On average, these items take 2-3 business days to dispatch, although this is not guaranteed.

The estimated shipping times that are displayed at checkout are from the point of dispatch. 

See our shipping policy for more information.

We have a 30-day return policy, which means you have 30 days after receiving your item(s) to make a return.

To be eligible for a return of an unwanted item, your item must be in the same condition that you received it and in its original packaging.

In the unfortunate situation that a product is damaged/faulty/incorrect, let us know and we will endeavor to correct any issue as soon as possible.

Please see our refund policy for more information.


Title: Songs of Insurrection
Label: Coviello Classics

"Never stop or falter, always play loud. Stay together as long as you can, but if you get lost, stay lost. Do not try to find your way back into the fold." That's the instruction legendary composer Frederic Rzewski gave for his 1968 piece "Les Moutons de Panurge." "Songs of Insurrection" (2016) is Rzewski's sequel to his masterwork "The People United Will Never Be Defeated". The piece is presented here in it's first recording by composer/pianist Thomas Kotcheff - member of piano spheres and the virtuosic piano duo HOCKET - alongside essays reflecting on the current moment, and photographs from protests taking place across the US. With pieces including "Die Moorsoldaten" (The Song of the Deported) written by prisoners of the Börgermoor concentration camp, American civil rights hymn "Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around," and "Oh Bird, Oh Bird, Oh Roller" from the Korean Peasant Rebellion of Donghak, "Songs of Insurrection" transcends the world of contemporary music and takes you on a journey through uprising.

Recently viewed