Sauna Youth

Sauna Youth: Deaths

$22.12 $26.98
Artist: Sauna Youth

Artist: Sauna Youth
Title: Deaths
Product Type: VINYL LP

180 gram, limited color vinyl; Includes poster; Edition of 500. Upset The Rhythm present Deaths, the final part in a trilogy of albums by Sauna Youth that started with Dreamlands (WAAT 048LP/049CD) in 2012. Dreamlands was followed by Distractions (UTR 071CD/LP, 2014) and consequently the songs that comprise Deaths are collectively about the act of finishing, an ode to "the ending". Creating this album was a working research project embodying what is sometimes the hardest part of musical endeavor: completing a record. Making a new album is always daunting, but when all band members also have full-time jobs and other commitments it can also seem logistically impossible. Then there is the nagging, unattainable perfectionism that can draw out a record for months or even years. The twelve tracks on Deaths touch on political rhetoric, artistic legacy, action and passivity, work and leisure, and, of course, distraction, referencing many musical genres in the process while never leaving punk's orbit. The album was recorded by John Hannon of No Recording Studios in June 2017 over three days, mixed by Jonah Falco and mastered by Kris Lapke. The cover was shot in a garden in Brixton by Owen Richards, who also photographed the covers for the previous albums. Additional artwork was provided by R.M. Phoenix. Sauna Youth is Boon, Mince, Ecke, and Pines. They played together in the band Monotony, and between them have played or do play in other bands and music projects including Primitive Parts, Feature, Child's Pose, Lilac, Cold Pumas, Oblate, Teufelskreis, Mind Jail, Gold Foil, and Tense Men as well as being involved with the organizations Good Night Out, The Positive Press, Constant Flux, and Heart n Soul.

Recommended items

Recently viewed