The Midwesterners

The Midwesterners: Live! at the Cuda Cafe

$12.88 $14.98
Product Type: CD

Title: Live! at the Cuda Cafe
Label: CD Baby

Madison, Wisconsin, April 14th, 2011---The Midwesterners, Madison's long-haul roots rockers, celebrate the release of their latest CD with a party and performance at The Harmony Bar on Sunday, May 1st, 4 to 8pm. Recorded live at The Cuda Café in Deerfield nearly a year ago, and mixed at Smart Studios before that world-renowned Madison recording venue closed it's doors, the new CD includes 15 Midwesterners originals and a handful of fan-favorite covers. Live! At The Cuda Café captures the immediacy and raucous spontaneity of a typical Midwesterners set. Drummer Mark Haines took advantage of his years of experience as an engineer and producer at Smart Studios to complete mixing of the live recording in one marathon session. The result is the fourth CD from The Midwesterners. It will mark the 20th anniversary of the band's first release, as well as band leader Richard Wiegel's 46 years of professional music making. His career includes founding membership in Clicker, regional rock heroes responsible for the self-titled 1973 release that Isthmus named one of 'The Top 25 Madison Pop Albums of All Time.' Of The Midwesterners' roots rock material, Rockzilla World calls Wiegel, ' of the best songwriters in this genre.' Vintage Guitar recommends the band's recordings to fans of '...Americana...and cool guitar tones.' And of the band's third CD, 2006's Ridin' With Chuck, Tom Laskin of Isthmus said, 'It's impossible to resist their amiable vibe. They've achieved a perfect chemistry...' The Midwesterners studio albums have included performances from musical luminaries such as bassist Tom Lavarda (Mendelbaum), guitarist and producer Mike Hoffmann (EIEIO), bassist Dennis Reifsteck (The Swing Crew), and bluesy pianist-about-town John Chimes, but Live! At The Cuda Café features nothing but the guitar-powered sound of the band's performing line-up of the last seven years: Richard Wiegel (guitars, vocals), Mark Haines (drums), D. Ernie Connor (guitars, vocals), Tom McCarty (upright bass, vocals).

1.1 Can't Slow Down
1.2 I'm Your Daddy's Worst Nightmare
1.3 If You Don't Go You Won't Know
1.4 The Winter of '96
1.5 Everyday Livin' Is Toughq
1.6 Carolina
1.7 Best Years
1.8 Roll with the Punches
1.9 Waitin' for Somethin' to Break
1.10 Ridin' with Chuck
1.11 I Write Another Letter (That I'll Never Send)
1.12 Scene of the Crime
1.13 Somewhere Outta Denver
1.14 Unsafe at Any Speed
1.15 Mercury Blues

Recently viewed