Ulysses Owens Jr. Quintet: Songs Of Freedom

Ulysses Owens Jr.: Songs Of Freedom
Artist: Ulysses Owens Jr. Quintet
Title: Songs Of Freedom

2019 release. First presented under the auspice of Jazz at Lincoln Center, the 1960s are explored through the work of three prolific artists: Joni Mitchell, Abbey Lincoln, and Nina Simone - all of whom have made an indelible mark in music. Each artist expressed freedom in various ways. Joni composed and sung about the freedom of love, Abbey expressed freedom of her individuality and race through her lyricism, and Nina Simone demanded freedom politically through song. The project is under the musical direction of Grammy Award-winning drummer, Ulysses Owens Jr.

1.1 Everything Must Change - Alicia Olatuja (Bernard Ighner) Arranged By Alicia Olatuja, and David Rosenthal
1.2 Mississippi Goddamn - René Marie (Nina Simone)
1.3 There Is a Balm in Gilead - Theo Bleckmann (Arranged By Theo Bleckmann)
1.4 Freedom Day- Joanna Majoko (Oscar Brown Jr./Abbey Lincoln/Max Roach Arranged By Theo Croker and Ulysses Owens Jr.)
1.5 Be My Husband- Alicia Olatuja (Nina Simone Arranged By Alicia Olatuja and Ulysses Owens Jr.)
1.6 Baltimore- Theo Bleckmann (Randy Newman Arranged By Theo Bleckmann and Ulysses Owens Jr.)
1.7 Both Sides Now - Alicia Olatuja (Joni Mitchell Arranged By Jeff Nielsen)
1.8 Driva Man - René Marie (Oscar Brown Jr. /Abbey Lincoln/Max Roach Arranged By Theo Croker)
1.9 Borderline - Theo Bleckmann (Joni Mitchell Arranged By Theo Croker)
1.10 Oh Freedom (Folk Song Arranged By Ulysses Owens Jr.)

Ulysses Owens Jr. Quintet: Songs Of Freedom

Regular price Sale price $10.30 $11.98
Tax included.

Recently viewed