William Tyler

William Tyler: Modern Country

$16.32 $18.98
Product Type: VINYL LP
Artist: William Tyler

Artist: William Tyler
Title: Modern Country
Product Type: VINYL LP

Vinyl LP pressing includes digital download. Modern Country is the fourth full-length album by guitarist and composer William Tyler and his first recorded outside of his hometown of Nashville, Tennessee. It features an ensemble backing group consisting of multi-instrumentalist Phil Cook (Hiss Golden Messenger, Blind Boys of Alabama), bassist Darin Gray (Tweedy, Jim O'Rourke), and percussionist Glenn Kotche (Wilco). The album was tracked at April Base Studios in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and finished in Nashville, recorded and mixed by Jon Ashley, and produced by Tyler and Brad Cook. While there is never a comfort zone in instrumental music, Tyler attempts to leave any perceived one behind with Modern Country. His first album for Merge, 2013's Impossible Truth, found Tyler exploring the boundaries of composition for solo guitar in a manner that paid homage to everyone from Leo Kottke to Brian Wilson. It was an epic song cycle that veered from cathedral-like psychedelic hymns to pastoral folk melodies. In contrast, Modern Country finds Tyler exploring more focused melodic themes rather than ethereal wanderings. These aren't pop songs, per se, but they are closer in spirit to Neu!, Penguin Cafe Orchestra, and Bill Frisell.

1.1 Highway Anxiety
1.2 I'm Gonna Live Forever (If It Kills Me)
1.3 Kingdom of Jones
1.4 Albion Moonlight
1.5 Gone Clear
1.6 Sunken Garden
1.7 The Great Unwind

Recently viewed