Don Slepian: Recordings 1971-1983

Don Slepian: Recordings 1971-1983
Title: Recordings 1971-1983
Label: Vinyl on Demand
Product Type: VINYL LP

Limited edition of 200. Don Slepian is a true pioneer of electronic music. He started composing in 1969 and released his first compilation cassette in September of 1978. He left Hawaii and came to Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, NJ, where he was "Artist in Residence" in computer music for the next two years. In 1980 he released three more cassette tapes on the Hawaiian record label Plumeria Productions: The Sea of Bliss, New Dawn, and Open Spaces. In 1981 he self-released his first LP, Computer Don't Breakdown. In 1982 he signed to Fortuna Records, who brought his music to a much wider audience with several releases throughout the '80s. The same year he released a collaborative tape with Lauri Paisley as Synarios called Uncontrolled Voltage in a classic electronica style. Slepian combines unique skills in music and electronics with a lifetime of improvised keyboard music performance. Born into a scientific family, Slepian showed both musical and technical talent early in life. In 1968, he programmed computers and built electronic music circuitry, sculpting sound with classic electronic music studio tape techniques. Starting in 1972, he was a tester on the early internet as a member of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). He was also a synthesizer soloist with the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra, Music Director of Honolulu Theatre for Youth, and ARP Synthesizer Sales Rep for Hawaii. His CV could go on for another page. This LP contains all the tracks from his extremely rare debut tape Electronic Music from the Rainbow Isle (1978), plus two tracks from Uncontrolled Voltage (his 1982 release with Paisley) and one track from 1982's Rhythm of Life tape, a Fortuna Records release.

1.1 A1. Evolution (10:34)
1.2 A2. Glimmerings (3:29)
1.3 A3. Flight Over Swampland (5:15)
1.4 A4. Halloween Piece (4:30)
1.5 A5. March of the Spirits (2:03)
1.6 B1. Horizon (5:23)
1.7 B2. Sunflower (8:41)
1.8 Rhythm of Life (1982):
1.9 B3. Fast Motion (2:40)
1.10 B4. Another Electric Tuesday (6:12)

Don Slepian: Recordings 1971-1983

Regular price Sale price $22.98 $24.98
Product-type:VINYL LP
Tax included.

Recently viewed