Dudley Simpson

Dudley Simpson: Doctor Who: The Sun Makers (Original Soundtrack)

$25.79 $29.99
Product Type: VINYL LP
Artist: Dudley Simpson

Title: Doctor Who: The Sun Makers (Original Soundtrack)
Label: Silva Screen
Product Type: VINYL LP

The Sun Makers (written by Robert Holmes) aired in November and December of 1977 with Tom Baker as the Doctor and is set on a tax-crippled planet Pluto. Along with trusty assistant Leela and faithful K9, he exposes the corrupt Company, defeating the Collector and freeing the population from financial misery. Composer Dudley Simpson (1922-2017) wrote prolifically for the BBC, producing hundreds of soundtracks for Doctor Who, The Tomorrow People, Blake's Seven and many others. The Sun Makers was scored for just six musicians and recorded, for the main part, live in the studio. However, such is the musicianship of the players, several of whom where multi-instrumentalists, the resulting sound is much bigger. The sleeve includes full notes by Mark Ayres.

1.1 Doctor Who Opening Title Theme
1.2 Death and Taxes
1.3 Mahogany
1.4 One Thousand Metres
1.5 Six Suns
1.6 The Others
1.7 Subway 13
1.8 Subway 13 (Continued)
1.9 A Heart As Big As Your Mouth
1.10 A Little Hop
1.11 Jelly Babies
1.12 Something in the Air
1.13 K9, Bite!
1.14 Humbug
1.15 The P45 Return Route
1.16 The P45 Return Route (Reprise)
1.17 Morton's Fork
1.18 I've Heard That One, Too
1.19 The Rebellion Begins
1.20 Static Loop
1.21 The Steaming
1.22 The Steaming Continued
1.23 Gentlemen, Good Luck
1.24 Nobody Works Today
1.25 The Gatherer Excised
1.26 Doctor Who Closing Title Theme (53 Version)"

Recently viewed