Guided by Voices: Self-inflicted Aerial Nostalgia

Guided by Voices SKU: 43673568
Guided by Voices: Self-inflicted Aerial Nostalgia

Guided by Voices: Self-inflicted Aerial Nostalgia

Guided by Voices SKU: 43673568

Format: VINYL LP

Regular price $24.98

On average, orders containing available-to-ship items are processed and dispatched within 1-2 business days, although this is not guaranteed.

Orders containing preorder items will ship as 1 fulfillment once all items in the order are available to ship.

Please note, Tower Records Merchandise and Exclusives are dispatched separately. On average, these items take 3-4 business days to dispatch, although this is not guaranteed.

The estimated shipping times that are displayed at checkout are from the point of dispatch. 

See our shipping policy for more information.

We have a 30-day return policy, which means you have 30 days after receiving your item(s) to make a return.

To be eligible for a return of an unwanted item, your item must be in the same condition that you received it and in its original packaging.

In the unfortunate situation that a product is damaged/faulty/incorrect, let us know and we will endeavor to correct any issue as soon as possible.

Please see our refund policy for more information.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Title: Self-inflicted Aerial Nostalgia
Artist: Guided by Voices
Label: Scat Records
Product Type: VINYL LP
UPC: 753417087019
Genre: Rock

*ON LIMITED CLEAR YELLOW VINYL!!! Self-Inflicted Aerial Nostalgia was Guided by Voices' third album, self-released by the band in 1988 in a pressing of 500. While both of the band's earlier albums exhibit strong songwriting and plenty of vision, it is here that the GBV sound really begins to coalesce. While Devil Between My Toes is rife with contrasts, variety, and dark psychedelia, and it's follow up Sandbox is a cohesive '60s-influenced affair, Self-Inflicted Aerial Nostalgia marries the two approaches to outstanding effect. Unsurprisingly, recording began before Sandbox was even done pressing. These sessions would yield an aborted LP titled Learning To Hunt, but after personnel changes and second thoughts, Robert Pollard shelved most of the tracks, dismissing them as too similar to those on Sandbox. Fair enough, as many of Pollard's more recent songs were simply on another level than previously. Here are the first of the classic Pollard slow-burners, often built on a simple melodic or rhythmic figure that circles itself ever outward, accumulating heft, variation, and inevitability as the song evolves into something unexpected yet inevitable. It's the aural equivalent to watching a butterfly grow out of it's cocoon.A few things are unique to this particular LP. Original powerhouse drummer Peyton Eric returns for nearly half the tracks, while engineer and lead guitarist Steve Wilbur shines at his brightest, resulting in some of the most thoroughly rocking GBV songs to ever be cut to lacquer, such as "Earful o' Wax," which simply explodes out of the speakers when the solo section begins. On the other end of the spectrum, you get Pollard recording perfect pop gems at home with just voice and guitar, which would become a calling card on later GBV albums. There's simply a tremendous variety of material, all strung together in such a way that the album is all of one piece, a mosaic.

1.1 1. The Future Is In Eggs
1.2 2. The Great Blake Street Canoe Race
1.3 3. Slopes Of Big Ugly
1.4 4. Paper Girl
1.5 5. Navigating Flood Regions
1.6 6. An Earful O’ Wax
1.7 7. White Whale
1.8 8. Trampoline
1.9 9. Short On Posters
1.10 10. Chief Barrel Belly
1.11 11. Dying To Try This
1.12 12. The Qualifying Remainder
1.13 13. Liar’s Tale
1.14 14. Radio Show (Trust The Wizard)
Recently viewed