Oneohtrix Point Never: Garden of Delete

Oneohtrix Point Never: Garden of Delete
Title: Garden of Delete
Label: Warp Records

Through an intricate unveiling of song snippets, film clips and a rabbit hole of internet postings involving a mysterious character named Ezra and world of music revolving around the band Kaoss Edge, Daniel Lopatin has revealed his latest release as Oneohtrix Point Never, Garden of Delete. After spending time on tour with Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden, Lopatin found himself gravitating towards the idea of creating a more rock inspired record. Building up from simple piano arrangements, the songs play with the idea of a 3 minute, “one-point-perspective” of a traditional rock song, but through the lense of Oneohtrix Point Never. Songs like “Ezra”, “Lift” and lead single “I Bite Through It” all hint at a verse-chorus-verse structure of a rock song, buried beneath layers of abstraction and manipulation one would expect from an OPN track, while the album’s magnificent 8 minute long centerpiece “Mutant Standard” shifts and changes, finding it’s closest rock relatives amongst prog and jam bands. Like Aphex Twin and the Prodigy before him, Lopatin manages to meld these seemingly distant sounds into a sound that is truly his own. Outside of his work as Oneohtrix Point Never, Lopatin founded Brooklyn-based Software Recording Company and has collaborated with a multitude of talented artists, directors, musicians and leading arts institutions; from Sofia Coppola to Ariel Kleiman, Antony & The Johnsons to Nine Inch Nails, Tate Modern to MoMA.

1.1 Intro
1.2 Ezra
1.3 Eccojamc1
1.4 Sticky Drama
1.5 SDFK
1.6 Mutant Standard
1.7 Child of Rage
1.8 Animals
1.9 I Bite Through It
1.10 Freaky Eyes
1.11 Lift
1.12 No Good

Oneohtrix Point Never: Garden of Delete

Regular price Sale price $13.19 $14.99

Recently viewed