Parliament: The Clones Of Dr. Funkenstein

Parliament: The Clones Of Dr. Funkenstein
Title: The Clones Of Dr. Funkenstein
Label: Mercury
Product Type: VINYL LP

Limited vinyl LP pressing with 3D lenticular cover. The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein is an album by funk band Parliament, released in September of 1976. The album is notable for featuring horn arrangements by ex-James Brown band member, Fred Wesley. The album charted at #3 on the Billboard R&B Albums chart, #20 on the Billboard pop chart, and became Parliament's second album to be certified gold. Two singles were released off the album, "Do That Stuff", which charted at #22, and "Dr. Funkenstein" which charted at #43. Parliament was originally The Parliaments, a doo-wop vocal group based at a Plainfield, New Jersey barbershop. The group was formed in the late 1950s and included George Clinton, Ray Davis, Fuzzy Haskins, Calvin Simon, and Grady Thomas. Clinton was the group leader and manager. The group finally had a hit single in 1967 with "(I Wanna) Testify" on Revilot Records. During a contractual dispute with Revilot, Clinton temporarily lost the rights to the name "The Parliaments", and signed the ensemble to Westbound Records as Funkadelic, which Clinton positioned as a funk-rock band featuring the five touring musicians with the five Parliaments singers as uncredited guests. With Funkadelic as a recording and touring entity in its own right, in 1970 Clinton relaunched the singing group, now known as Parliament, at first featuring the same ten members. Clinton was now the leader of two different acts, Parliament and Funkadelic, which featured the same members but were marketed as creating two different types of funk.

1.1 Prelude
1.2 Gamin' on Ya
1.3 Dr. Funkenstein
1.4 Children of Production
1.5 Getten to Know You
2.1 Do That Stuff
2.2 Everything Is on the One
2.3 I've Been Watching You (Move Your Sexy Body)
2.4 Funkin' for Fun

Parliament: The Clones Of Dr. Funkenstein

Regular price Sale price $26.38 $29.98
Product-type:VINYL LP

Recently viewed