The Dark Flowers: Radioland

The Dark Flowers: Radioland
Title: Radioland
Label: Lojinx

2013 debut from the 'Dark Country' musical project formed by acclaimed songwriter Paul Statham (Dido, Peter Murphy) and featuring Jim Kerr, Peter Murphy, Dot Allison (former Massive Attack vocalist), Norwegian songstress Kate Havnevik, rising star Catherine AD, Shelly Poole (Alisha's Attic, Red Sky July) and Mercury prize nominated Helicopter Girl. The inspiration for The Dark Flowers project emerged while Statham was reading Sam Shepard's award-winning Motel Chronicles. Influenced by his love for Brian Eno's Another Green World, Bon Iver's for Emma, Forever Ago and listening to 1970's soundtrack the Hired Hand by Bruce Langhorne, an unlikely album took shape. Formed out of each vocalist's unique interpretation of excerpts from Shepard's Chronicles the tracks are soundscaped by Statham, who sculpted a backdrop from slide guitar, banjo and found-sounds. The album has evolved along the way with more traditional songwriting to form a unique hybrid.

1.1 Radioland (Featuring Jim Kerr)
1.2 All the Time Running (Featuring Shelly Poole ; Charity Hair)
1.3 Blue Eyes Are Cheating (Featuring Jim Kerr)
1.4 Fast Forest Rain (Featuring Kate Havnevik)
1.5 Aim for the Heart (Featuring Catherine Ad)
1.6 Candle Is the Ring (Featuring Helicopter Girl)
1.7 Clean Break (Featuring Peter Murphy)
1.8 Diamonds on the Snow (Featuring Dot Allison)
1.9 When Stars Fall (Featuring Shelly Poole)
1.10 Cellophane Girl (Featuring Shelly Poole)
1.11 No Trains Stop Here (Featuring Catherine Ad)
1.12 Where the Wild Things Are (Featuring Jim Kerr)

The Dark Flowers: Radioland

Regular price Sale price $26.39 $29.99

Recently viewed