Special Consensus: Route 10

Special Consensus SKU: 08719317
Special Consensus: Route 10

Special Consensus: Route 10

Special Consensus SKU: 08719317

Format: CD

Regular price $13.99

On average, orders containing available-to-ship items are processed and dispatched within 1-2 business days, although this is not guaranteed.

Orders containing preorder items will ship as 1 fulfillment once all items in the order are available to ship.

Please note, Tower Records Merchandise and Exclusives are dispatched separately. On average, these items take 3-4 business days to dispatch, although this is not guaranteed.

The estimated shipping times that are displayed at checkout are from the point of dispatch. 

See our shipping policy for more information.

We have a 30-day return policy, which means you have 30 days after receiving your item(s) to make a return.

To be eligible for a return of an unwanted item, your item must be in the same condition that you received it and in its original packaging.

In the unfortunate situation that a product is damaged/faulty/incorrect, let us know and we will endeavor to correct any issue as soon as possible.

Please see our refund policy for more information.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Title: Route 10
Artist: Special Consensus
Label: Pinecastle
UPC: 755757112321
Genre: Bluegrass

The Special Consensus is a masterful and innovative bluegrass quartet that has come a long way since it first started performing in the Midwest in the mid-seventies. Through hard work and perseverance, the dues have long been paid, and this band has now achieved an international reputation as a very solid and popular professional touring band. Their new album features the core group of Greg Cahill (banjo), Josh Williams (mandolin), Tim Dishman (bass), and Jamie Clifton (guitar). They are joined by seasoned accompanists Rob Ickes on resonator guitar, and Ron Stewart on fiddle. My only minor suggestion would've been to add these two guests more prominently into the mix, especially on this album's two instrumentals. "Route 10" contains a diverse variety of songs, best classified as contemporary bluegrass with gospel quartet (Claire Lynch's "Come Unto Me") and swing (Paul Craft's "I'll Believe the Lie") offerings served up with expert flair. Musically sophisticated, these guys know how to infuse infectious energy into their songs and arrangements. Every single cut is a winner that deserves airplay, although the Ron Spears composition "Say You'll Stay in my Arms" and Michael Martin Murphey's "Carolina in the Pines" are probably the two most "special" showpieces that DJs will achieve "consensus" on as deserving places on the bluegrass charts. On this album, Greg Cahill, originally from Chicago, really tears up his original composition, "Chahill Special," with the other band members also trading off some hot licks to share in the virtuositic fun. Cahill is the original founder of the band and currently serves as the group's senior member. He has assembled some young and flashy talent to give the band a brilliant, fresh sound. Guitarist Jamie Clifton, from Oklahoma, has won several guitar contests including the prestigious Oklahoma State flatpicking championship in 1990. From 1995-2000, he performed with the bluegrass gospel band, The New Tradition, before joining The Special Consensus in 2001. On this CD, Clifton sings lead on three songs (If I Could Only Have Your Love, Bobby and Sarah, and Come Unto Me). He also demonstrates his songwriting skills with "Amy and Trevor," a beautiful but very sad song about a man's family lost as a result of his driving under the influence. Bassplayer Tim Dishman, from Indiana but with family roots in Alabama and West Virginia, joined The Special Consensus in 1999. He offers his lead vocals to one cut, "The Old Man in the Park," on this project. Finally, mandolinist and primary lead vocalist Josh Williams is a young talent that shows boundless artistic promise. By age twelve, he had won banjo, mandolin, guitar and dobro awards. He joined The Special Consensus in 1999. His self-penned instrumental composition, "This Ain't Alabama, Uncle George," is a hard-driving picker's delight that just makes me want to sit up straight and say "Wow!" Williams sings expressive lead on six of this album's songs. - Joe Ross, freelance writer, Bluegrass Unlimited magazine

1.1 Say You'll Stay in My Arms
1.2 If I Could Only Have Your Love
1.3 Amy and Trevor
1.4 Rounder's Spirit
1.5 This Ain't Alabama, Uncle George (Inst)
1.6 I'll Believe the Lie
1.7 Bobby and Sarah
1.8 Come Unto Me
1.9 Route 10, Box 782
1.10 The Old Man in the Park
1.11 Chahill Special (Inst)
1.12 Carolina in the Pines
Recently viewed